Harris and Teague earn Touchdown Club Honors

By Kevin Bradford

Annapolis and St. Mary’s high schools have a tradition of producing the top overall football player and lineman in Anne Arundel County.

Seniors Demario Harris of Annapolis and Brendan Teague of ST. Mary’s continued that trend Sunday as they were honored by the Touchdown Club of Annapolis.

Harris won the prestigious Rhodes Trophy, Anne Arundel’s high school version of the Heisman Trophy, which is awarded annually to the county’s top player.

He is the 12th Annapolis player, most among county schools, to win the 44 year award, and third in the past five seasons.

“Pound for pound, he’s the best player I’ve coached at Annapolis. When you pick a Player of the Year, you pick the best all around player. He was a 1,000 yard rusher, our offensive MVP and our most consistent defensive player,” Annapolis coach Roy Brown said.

Teague was chosen as winner of the Laramore Award, which is given to the county’s top linemen. He is the fourth St. Mary’s player, most among county schools, and third in the past seven seasons to receive the 14-year award.

“It’s nice to see the public schools (coaches ) give us respect. They don’t see us play much because we don’t play a lot of them, so we appreciate the respect. It’s a nice tradition we’ve had for our program,” St. Mary’s coach Mike Codd said.